University of Illinois Football Seniors, Award Winners Honored

December 11, 2016

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - The Fighting Illini football team, families and friends gathered Sunday at the iHotel and Conference Center to honor the program's 24 seniors and the season's award winners at the 115th annual football banquet.

The following are the Illini award winners from the 2016 Illinois Football Banquet:

Kendrick Foster – Most Outstanding Offensive Player
Carroll Phillips – Most Outstanding Defensive Player
Chase McLaughlin – Most Outstanding Special Teams Player
Justin Hardee – Wright Commitment to Excellence Award
Dawuane Smoot – Bruce Capel Award

Scholar-Athlete Award » DT Rob Bain
Service Above Self Award » C Joe Spencer
Offense Unsung Hero Award » WR Zach Grant & OT Austin Schmidt
Defense Unsung Hero Award » DB Darius Mosely & LB Hardy Nickerson
Offense Newcomer of the Year » RB Reggie Corbin
Defense Newcomer of the Year » S Stanley Green
Offense Scout Team Player of the Year » RB Christian Bobak
Defense Scout Team Player of the Year » DT Tymir Oliver
Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year » TE Griffin Palmer